Namibia > Testimonials

Namibia

  • Rob, had a terrific time. A lot of driving but worth it to see everything in one trip. The variety of the whole trip was brilliant.

    Peter, Anne and their son Joe from Cambridgeshire did a self-drive holiday in Namibia

Namibia

Testimonials

Having specialised in travel to Africa since 1983, we are extremely proud to have built up a wonderful customer base of repeat travellers who recommend our services to their friends and colleagues. Whether our customers travel just once to Africa as a special celebration holiday, or go back multiple times a year, our aim is for every holiday to be perfect, every time. Listed below are just some of the comments we have received from our customers visiting Namibia in the past year.

Rob, the trip was superb and went flawlessly. Thank you so much for organizing exactly what I was looking for. I will be back to Namibia hopefully with friends.
Martin from New York travelled to Namibia

April 2017

Hi Bill, we had an amazing trip! All the lodges/hotels were great with perfect staff. The tour you booked for us at Swakop was very good. Berger did a great job and full of stories. We saw lots of seals and jackals and had a very exciting ride back over the dunes. Seeing it all from a scenic flight gave a different perspective. Caesar gave us an unbelievable trip all the way up to the Kunene River. Lots of kilometres but such wonderful sites to visit. We tracked but didn’t see the lion. Lots of elephants and antelope and herds of zebra racing the land cruiser across an enormous open plain! Huab was a welcome rest and we drank our wine while lazing in the hot spring. Not much large game around now but plenty of smaller interest. At Ongava we saw 3 prides of lion (about 22 in total) and actually walked through the bush to follow a female white rhino and her calf. Wow! Two black rhinos visited the waterhole in front of the lodge every evening! Etosha was excellent. Lots happening! The highlights were a lion stalking very large herds of game at Salvadora waterhole and a group of 12 elephants bathing at Klein Namutoni. It was good spending 2 nights at Okonjima. So much to do! lots of cheetah and leopard to track with great sightings. We were also fortunate to find the two wild dogs and to see porcupine from the night hide. The visit to the San bushmen at Bagatelle was well done - and we met quite a few colourful Himba people up in Damaraland. We even saw an aardvark at Bagatelle on a night drive. The roads were not as rutted as we expected but the road in and out of Twyfelfontein was very badly corrugated. The smaller Duster was fine but perhaps a bigger 4x4 would give a bit more confident and a smoother ride. Thanks Bill for organising such a great trip. We really loved it.
John and Jean from Kent travelled to Namibia

September/October 2016

Hi Rob, Chobe Princess - Fantastic start. Total unwind from first few minutes on board. Mwamba - Excellent camp. First rate guide. Marvellous wildlife. Tafika - Bush walking was great. Guides very knowledgeable. Old Mondoro - Great Camp. Water activities a real plus, and good to wash out all that dust at the end. Thanks again. A wonderful trip and just the right mix of experiences.
Lloyd and Jacqueline from Cambridgeshire travelled to Namibia, Zimbabwe & Zambia

September 2016

Hello Rob, we had the "trip of a lifetime" ! Skeleton Coast Safaris were the best. Andre was our pilot, and his son Kyle came too. We had the plane to ourselves as no-one else came with us. They also gave us a tent each at their camps which made all the difference. Our driver - Binius - at Ongava was excellent - to be recommended. Victoria Falls Hotel is a must! So unspoilt.
Rosemary from Berkshire travelled to Namibia and Zimbabwe

August 2016

Hi Michele, we're back and the choice is between sorting out the suitcases or going back over the details of a really stunning holiday, I've chosen the latter! Thanks for organising everything, we really appreciate the thought you put into the planning. We weren't on the go every hour of every day, but we enjoyed a few half days just soaking up the view and atmosphere.
Ray and Janet from Buckinghamshire travelled to Namibia and Zimbabwe

June/July 2016

Hi Rob, may I thank you and the team, but you especially, for putting together such an excellent trip. It met, indeed it exceeded, all our expectations. Quite when we do the next one, I know not; perhaps not for a year or two but another we shall do and through you.
Christopher and Penny from Hope Valley travelled to Zambia and Namibia

June 2016

May we thank you for a wonderful holiday which ended last week. All the arrangements were spot-on including travel pick-ups and transfers. Great planning by yourselves! Thank you also for your intervention when our planned homeward flight was cancelled at Windhoek, Air Namibia staff were hopeless but we made progress with your help and also from the brilliant Wilderness Safaris staff based at the airport. Without your combined efforts, we might still be there. Thanks again!
Martin and June from Staffordshire travelled to South Africa and Namibia

April/May 2016

We had an absolutely fantastic time in Namibia. Probably our best-ever trip, so many thanks for all your help and advice. It's hard to rank so many different experiences, but our favourites were Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp and Tok Tokkie Trail. Hoodia was also very good, mainly because of the expert guiding to Sossusvlei, which really was a step up from the usual level. In Swakopmund, the kayaking and Sandwich Bay 4x4 trip were great fun. Best wishes and thanks again.
Charles and Amanda from Northamptonshire travelled to Namibia

October/November 2015

Frances, great holiday. We particularly enjoyed the Tok Tokkie and Footsteps walking trips, but appreciated the diversity of the programme and would not have wished to change the route. Overall brilliant! Thank you.
Phillip and Katie from Essex travelled to Namibia and Botswana

September 2015

Great trip, thoroughly enjoyed the experience and as always great attention to detail. Thanks Rob. Look forward to another African adventure
Paul and Karen from Kent travelled to Namibia

September 2015

We would like to thank you so much, especially Michele for all your advice and help. The arrangements were not the most straightforward but you had carried them out so that everything ran seamlessly. I did not want to return to the UK and can’t wait for our next visit. I will be starting to plan again with Michele as soon as I finish the laundry!! Thank you so much.
Christopher and Rosemary from Wiltshire travelled to South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Namibia

August 2015

Hi Rob, Unfortunately we had to come home at the end of our Namibia trip - which was the only disappointing aspect of the arrangements! Although by now we are used to it, it is very much appreciated that everything you arranged went perfectly smoothly. We had a great time and saw some amazing scenery, lots of wildlife, stayed at some lovely places and met many really nice people - yep a great time!
Kev and Lynne from Kent travelled to Namibia

June/July 2015

Hi Jane, well you did it again, another great holiday which not only met but exceeded many of our expectations. It would be difficult to pick out any one highlight from a trip which included flamingos in the sunset at Walvis Bay to a sky almost white with stars at Etendeka. If we had to select one element though it would be the four nights with Waylon and Michael of Kunene Tours exploring the wilder reaches of north western Namibia. We would never have thought it possible to have one of the tenderest steaks we have ever had, cooked on a camp fire in the middle of nowhere. It also adds to the experience when your guide gets genuinely excited as happened when we sighted a cheetah along the Hoanib River. Once again thank you, diolch yn fawr iawn (thank you very much indeed).
George and Chris from Flintshire travelled to Namibia

May/June 2015

Hello Rob, many thanks for arranging our wonderful Namibia holiday. All of the accommodation was good and we saw a huge number of animals. Our guide at Mushara estimated we had seen about two hundred elephants in several family groups, the antics of the small babies provided us with much amusement. Also a cheetah mother with two cubs, and a black rhino, all on our first day in Etosha. We enjoyed the boat trip from Walvis bay and the afternoon trip in the dunes was amazing! On our free day in Swakopmund, we booked a full day trip with Living Desert Adventures - looking for the desert animals in the morning and then visiting the moonscape in the afternoon - it was an excellent trip and we can highly recommend it. On the journey from Swakopmund to Sossus Dune Lodge we saw some bat eared foxes. We really liked Sossus Dune lodge and managed to see the sunrise over the dunes! Many thanks again for a wonderful holiday.
Kenneth and Carolyn from Rutland travelled to Namibia

May 2015

Hi Rob, we are home from the trip of a life time. It was wonderful, beautiful, thrilling, adventurous and beyond our expectations! Many, many thank you's.
Roger and Gillian from Devon travelled to Namibia and Botswana

May 2015

Dear Rob, what can we say! We have just returned from the most wonderful two weeks in Namibia. It was, from beginning to end, just one fabulous thing after another. The wildlife, mountains, dunes, sea, accommodation, huge blue skies, sunsets and sunrises, stars, the roads(?!), the itinerary, the guides, the people, were just the best. Our thanks to you for your meticulous planning and care which was so evident throughout. It was a great comfort to be completely confident that everything would be perfect, and it certainly was. Another big thank you is for helping to make Richard's birthday so special. The staff at Khowarib Lodge had made a cake, presented it under a starlit sky and sang as only the Africans can. What an experience! We loved every single minute of this holiday. Thank you for all your help in making it so wonderful and special.
Richard and Pamela from Leicester travelled to Namibia

May 2015

Hello Rob, the standard of guiding was excellent; staff without fail were courteous, helpful and always smiling. We can highly recommend Safari Consultants in every respect. They are very professional and a credit to the travel industry. Nothing is too much trouble. Their aim is always to give their clients a perfect holiday/safari experience.
Roger and Gillian from Devon travelled to Botswana and Namibia

June 2015

Dear Michele, we had a really great holiday and all went well.  Thanks for all the arrangements and accommodation recommendations. Thamakalane River Lodge is a great place for birding in their grounds. Letaka Safaris – Excellent. Olive Grove – Excellent, nice touches and great breakfast. Little Sossus Lodge – Excellent. Great accommodation with fantastic views from our front door.  Great food.  All very friendly.  Enjoyed the sundowner trip with lots of food and wine. The full day excursion to Sossusvlei was excellent and Pierre went out of his way to find the Desert Lark for us.  He was very good company and spent a lot of time showing us the area – a memorable day. Cornerstone Guesthouse - Excellent.  Very friendly and helpful. Accommodation huge and very clean, great breakfast.  One day not long enough. Brandberg White Lady Lodge - Friendly and excellent setting with beautiful desert gardens. Camp Kipwe - Excellent.  Our favourite place for its setting and design.  Food also excellent and Tafi was a great guide. We were lucky to see the desert elephants on our morning nature drive.  Erongo Wilderness Lodge - Excellent.  Good accommodation, great setting and views. Good birding and photo opportunities from the dining/terrace areas. Thanks again for everything.
Peter and Angela from Hertfordshire travelled to Botswana and Namibia

April 2015

Rob, had a terrific time. A lot of driving but worth it to see everything in one trip. The variety of the whole trip was brilliant.
Peter, Anne and their son Joe from Cambridgeshire did a self-drive holiday in Namibia

June 2014

Dear Rob, now in Aus after a fantastic holiday, everything went as per your very comprehensive itinary. Namibia really suited us, incredible scenery, lovely lodges, excellent trips and with few tourists. The people were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure our holiday was so good.
Roger and Susan from Essex undertook a self-drive holiday around Namibia

November 2013

The trip of a lifetime! We felt like rock stars, flying in and out of camps and lodges, with never a moment's doubt about a pickup or transfer. The recommended itinerary - arrived at after quite a bit of back and forth, since we were limited by time and had peculiar wishes, such as a preference for landscape and culture rather than game - suited us perfectly. I'd recommend Rob Slater to anyone planning a trip to Namibia. Safari Consultants booked us 4 days with Johan Burger through Kunene Tours, and this camping segment proved to be the highlight of the trip. We found Johan super easy going, super well informed and prepared, and seemed to have radar as far as finding game was concerned - in short a dream camping trip was the result. We saw way more wildlife than we expected, and got as close to the land and culture as I think it's possible to get in 9 days.
Hennie and Jeff found us through Travelspinner.com and travelled around Namibia

September 2013

Dear Mary, we had such a fantastic time. We keep telling everyone how fantastic your organisation and choice of venues was, we saw nearly everything apart from cheetahs and met some amazing people. We cannot thank you enough for our experience. So much to say but must dash, will definitely be in touch for our next trip!
Jim and Di travelled through South Africa, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia

March 2013

Hi Bill, I have just got to congratulate you and your team on your attention to detail, presentation, and an over all totally professional job.
Neil is a travel agent that worked with us on a safari for his clients

January 2012

First of all thank you for organising a magnificent holiday in Southern Africa for us. It was our first trip to that part of the world and we couldn't have managed it without the professional input from Safari Consultants. There were so many memorable events that we will think about for years to come. Thanks again for helping us experience the wonders of Africa!
Peter, Ginny and Christine travelled through Namibia, Botswana and Zambia

October/November 2012

Dear Rob, we had a fantastic time which far exceeded our expectations and will provide us with enduring lifelong memories. Game viewing at all locations was excellent and the quality and knowledge of all the guides we had were outstanding. At all locations, we had a vehicle to ourselves. We recorded 185 different bird species, 37 different mammal species and 6 different reptiles. We witnessed lions devouring a warthog twenty feet away and hyenas feeding on a zebra which had apparently just died trying to give birth – so many different memories. All the camps provided very comfortable accommodation and excellent food and the staff were universally welcoming and good humoured. All the travel arrangements, border crossings etc. worked without a hitch and our bags turned up at all destinations! All in all a fabulous experience and thanks for your valued advice in putting it all together for us.
David and Jan travelled through Zambia (Victoria Falls), Botswana and Namibia

November 2012

Dear Rob, We had a fantastic time! Many thanks for all your assistance in arranging such a marvellous holiday.
Roger and Judith travelled through Zambia (Victoria Falls), Botswana and Namibia

November 2012

Hi Rob, what an amazing time we had, all arrangements went without any problems, all we had to do was enjoy ourselves and we certainly did that. Thank you to you and the team for pulling it all together.
Russell and Audrey undertook a self-drive holiday around Namibia

September 2012

Good morning Rob. Just getting back into normal routine. Our Namibia trip was fantastic, and Geoff and Rachel really enjoyed the whole experience. We now have a total of six persons very keen on self drive safaris.
Alan, Norma, Geoff and Rachel travelled through Namibia

September 2012

Dear Michele, I am emailing to let you know that we have had a wonderful holiday. Thank you for putting together an itinerary that provided us with the contrasts that we were looking for and also for 'reading' our tastes so well. We have had some great experiences and when we reached Sossusviei Desert Lodge I thought that I had died and gone to heaven. I cannot imagine that it could be bettered. Its location is picture perfect and I think it got our vote for the best rooms we have ever stayed in. Our second favourite place was Camp Kalahari. You rather 'down sold' this, and when one of my friends told me that she was going for a second time to Jack's Camp I felt a little envious (although having looked at the prices for Jack's Camp I can see that it would have added considerably to the cost). However in the event the experience here was really memorable and we could not see how it could have been improved upon. We were very glad that we decided to do the Grey Matters excursion, we never thought that we would get so close to an elephant and learn so much about them. We weren't as enthused by Stanley's lodge as the other accommodation. However staying at Stanley or the sister camp is the only way of doing Grey Matters and we would not have wanted to have missed that. All the arrangements worked like clockwork and we enjoyed the connecting flights by light aircraft, the flights to and from Sossusviei stand out in particular. So thank you again for providing us with a spectacular holiday.
Nigel, Ann and Emma travelled through Botswana and Namibia

August 2012

Dear Michele, Please find enclosed the returned appraisal form supplied by you. Can I also say a massive thanks for all your work in planning and arranging the holiday, all aspects ran like clockwork. The whole trip was fabulous and we enjoyed every minute! In discussions with Andrew and Pippa (managements at Kanana) they expressed the views that the selection of camps had been really well thought out since they were all very different. I think I would like to take this a stage further and say that we felt that for virtually the whole 3 weeks every day seemed to be different and we particularly enjoyed this aspect. We managed to see a whole host of wildlife. The only animals we did not see where cheetah and rhino. On returning to the lodge one evening we stumbled across a leopard kill but two hyaenas had stolen the prize meal; a truly amazing experience! We believe we achieved great rapport with all lodge personnel who were brilliant everywhere. All our guides where excellent. Once again many thanks for all your efforts.
David and Christine travelled through Namibia and Botswana

May 2012

Hi Rob, Just to say thank you very much for creating us such a wonderful honeymoon! It was the perfect mix of environments – arriving in Jacana with the delta in flood was stunning – we loved going around by boat in the hippo highways and all the beautiful wildlife, flowers, birds and the mokoro. Selinda was awesome – amazing guiding and we were lucky enough to have some wild dogs and a hyena in front of the camp on day 1 and 2. Fantastic food too and lovely relaxed yet luxurious atmosphere and accommodation. We also found Ntwala stunning – supreme accommodation and the biggest bathroom I’ve ever seen! And being by the Zambezi – we loved it (you were right too – we ended up not going on that last game drive in the end in order to enjoy being on the river more). We saw lions chasing mongoose from the river in Chobe – great treat. We loved Siankaba too and the falls. Perfect!
Martin and Pam found us on the web and travelled to Botswana, Namibia and Zambia on honeymoon

May 2012

Dear Mary, we wanted to write you a note to say a huge thank you for all of your help planning and organising our honeymoon. We had the most amazing time. It was absolutely perfect and everything we dreamed it would be and more. Each of the properties we visited were perfect and you had clearly listened to exactly what we wanted by keeping them all small and personal. The game viewing at Etosha was second to none and being able to self drive around the park gave it an exclusive feel and we had some experiences we will never forget. We didn't think it was possible for a herd of 23 Elephants to creep up without us realising whilst we were busy watching a leopard at a waterhole without another person or car in sight! This email would not be complete without a mention about the wild camping. This for us was the best three days of the entire trip. Being out in such deserted wildnerness was an unbelievable experience and one which is very difficult to describe to people who have not seen it. Our guide, Eric, was first class and ensured our experience was as good as it was. Simply put, a trip to Namibia without visiting this region in this way would be incomplete. There is one last thing.... when can we go again?!
David and Kirsten travelled around Namibia on honeymoon

September 2012

Dear Rob, our recent holiday to Zambia, Botswana and Namibia certainly lived up to expectations - it is fair to say that we do not think it could have been bettered and much of this is down to how well you interpreted our requirements and the large amount of time you spent refining these with us. The game/bird viewing was excellent and we were delighted with the range and variety of different experiences we encountered. Thank you again for everything you did to make this holiday such as special experience for us.
David and Vee travelled to Zambia, Botswana and Namibia

September/ early October 2011

Mary, I have just returned from my trip to Namibia. I had a wonderful time. I thoroughly enjoyed the Diverse Namibia trip with Wilderness Safaris. The guide, Regan, did a fantastic job and I want to send the Wilderness management in Namibia an email to let them know how good a job he did. The hike was amazing. I had wanted to do an activity which I thought would be challenging but rewarding and it was exactly what I had hoped for (and more). I do not normally go camping and I am only really a "post-prandial" walker so I confess that I was anxious about it at the start and, for the first 24 hours, I did wonder why I had agreed to do it! However, as each day went past, the more I enjoyed it and the day when we climbed the Gorassis mountain will live long in the memory. It was an arduous climb and the descent was treacherous but we arrived at camp that evening to find the porter, chef, hot showers and a bed roll! The gin and tonic which I had was almost certainly the best I have ever had! In short, I would highly recommend the hike. It was one of the highlights of the trip.
Charles travelled to Namibia, combining a small group safari with a private walking trail

September 2011

This was a first-rate holiday and we don't think you are going to be able to better it or even equal it.......now, there's a challenge!  It was a true wilderness experience and we loved pretty much every minute. You got everything in absolutely the right order, and we were so glad to finish in the quiet atmosphere of Tswalu (quite liked the pampering too).
John & Jennifer travelled to Namibia & South Africa

April 2011

Having now completed our first Botswana safari we appreciate more fully how thoughtfully you had put the itinerary together. This was also commented on very favourably by other travellers we met and talked to and who wanted to know who had set up our safari. Very many thanks for that. Everyone we met in Botswana and Namibia was welcoming, pleasant and helpful. We cannot remember such universal warmth on any previous trip we have made. In our time we have both visited about 100 different countries either for work or pleasure.
Don & Gillian travelled to Botswana & Namibia’s Caprivi Strip

April 2011

Fantastic holiday. We thought Botswana couldn't be beaten but we both think Namibia had the edge. Maybe it was because we had more freedom. The driving was interesting, the distances sometimes a bit long, but within your guide lines. Birding was excellent according to the different habitats. Managed 178 species including most of the endemics. Also had a brilliant selection of animals, 34 in all, including 5 rhino at Etosha, a genet and caracal at Erongo and a brief glimpse of a leopard at Etendeka. Thanks Rob, to you and your staff for giving us another excellent holiday.
Pete & Kathy travelled to Namibia

December 2010

Hi Rob, it was a wonderful adventure holiday in every way. We were so lucky with the Skeleton Coast Safari and Andre Schoeman who was a fantastic guide and told us so much of the country and its people, etc. We were the only two on board the Cessna apart from pilot Andre and his son who was almost a pilot! We had tents to ourselves at the camps so room to spread our bits and pieces and we were looked after royally. The final stop at Victoria Falls was a delightful end and seeing the Falls at close proximity made it much more realistic. We had a 13 minute helicopter flight which was incredible. We saw many animals particularly at Ongava and Etosha - all making it a memorable holiday. Hope we will be doing another with you before too long!
Amanda from Berkshire travelled to Namibia and Zimbabwe

August 2016